Rice flour pie crust

24

February 22, 2007 by Bex

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 large egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup butter, cut into small pieces
  • 3 tsp cold water

Put flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Add cold butter pieces and use a fork or pastry knife to mix them into the dry ingredients. Add the egg and water and stir until sticky.

Use a piece of waxed paper with rice flour on it to roll the dough out on. Then, turn the piece of waxed paper upside down into the pie pan. This dough will not stick together like a gluten dough. You will have to be very careful turning it and depending on how graceful you are, you may need to smooth the dough out into the pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

24 thoughts on “Rice flour pie crust

  1. Mango says:

    OH-MY-GAWD this recipe is PHENOMENAL!!!! This was, without question, the BEST pie crust I have ever made. I made it for my wife, because she suspects she is allergic to gluten, but even my in-laws liked it – the quiche disappeared in no time FLAT. I used white rice flour because we didn’t have brown, and I used a food processor instead of a pastry knife. I also decided I couldn’t be bothered to roll it out, so I just put it in a quiche pan and spread it around with a fork. It held its shape beautifully and could easily be used for tart shells. Thanks!!

    • Margie says:

      Thanks for the tip to use a fork to spread it around. I had some brown rice flour on hand, in case, since we have recently cut way back on eating anything wheat. I made a quiche, and the crust came out tasty, and the family liked the quiche too.

    • C8tea says:

      Thanks for the tip about spreading the dough on the pie tin, great idea!

  2. Bex says:

    Thanks Mango!

  3. IceArdor says:

    Baking time and temperature?

  4. Melissa Walter says:

    This is great-I used the egg white only and added 1 Tablespoon of sugar and about 1 tsp of cinnamon-great apple pie crust for someone who has a gluten-free diet.

  5. Yemi Amu says:

    This crust is great! I used it for a mixed berry tart and I just loved it. Check out my blog entry about the tart @ http://yummybyyemi.com/2/post/2010/08/mixed-berry-tart-with-basil.html

  6. Dani says:

    For an even healthier rendition of this recipe I used 3 Tbsp. Organic coconut oil in place of the butter. I also find that 3 Tbsp. of the cold water works best too. I just use my hands to pound the “dough” into the pie plate and then use my fingers to push it up onto the sides for the crust. It doesn’t say what temp either, so I put mine in at 350 degrees for about 25-30 minutes. Perfection!!

    • rebeccagroebner says:

      Thanks! Coconut oil can typically be substituted in equal parts for butter. However, as for health, butter is quite beneficial. The butyric acid found in butter acts as an anti-inflammatory agent in you digestive system, helping to calm it down and prevent inflammatory responses.

  7. Bobbi says:

    Awesome, going to give this a go soon!

  8. rajfal says:

    I doubled the recipe using a cup of finely processed rice buiscuits (g-free) in place of the second cup of rice flour. This gave me a more crumbly pastry as a result. Pre-baked as a pie shell for 10mins at 210C.

  9. judith says:

    my partner can not have wheat at all. so this is a whole new way of cooking without flour. used this recipe for a lemon pie. its great. i did find that it was not enough to actually fill a pie plate, i increased the flour by a 1/4 cup the butter by 1/8 cup and the water by a couple of drops. this worked perfect, and the temp 350 for 25 mins.

  10. [...] Find one online and make it. [...]

  11. [...] Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Prepare the crust by following these directions (but using the measurements above and no water). In another bowl, combine all of the filling [...]

  12. [...] 1 batch brown rice flour pie crust (recipe here) 1/2 c. slow cooker cinnamon apples (recipe [...]

  13. evey says:

    Can I skip the egg or use a substitute like flax or chia egg? Thanks!

    • Bex says:

      Hey evey,
      I would try one of those and see how it works, if you’re using the butter or coconut oil – I would think it would hold together but could you post if you try it?

    • Gita Dodge says:

      Hey evey,

      garbanzo flour 1tbspn to 1tbspn water is a ‘well known’ egg substitute for baking that I have used for years
      G.D

  14. Gita Dodge says:

    btw – great recipe Bex
    G.D

  15. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might as
    well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  16. […] ‘less is more’ approach in the kitchen), and went for it.  I found the recipe on The Chaotic Kitchen’s site (click the link to see it).  I used just what she said to use, but as Natalie typically […]

  17. christine says:

    I cant do coconut or dairy, do you think it would work to use canola oil or shortening in place?

    • Bex says:

      Hi Christine,
      I would probably attempt something (naturally) solid at room temperature like an ethically harvested palm oil, cocoa butter or lard/tallow. But, if you try it with one of those, let us know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories

Calendar

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

